My thought on Traveling!

 

traveling-blog-post

Hey Everyone!

Today I wanted to talk to you guys about traveling! I love in Ohio and I annually make trips to Tennessee and Indiana, but other than that I rarely get out. This isn’t because I don’t want to, or that I don’t know where I want to go, or even that I don’t have the money for it, but really because I have crazy anxiety. As bad as it sounds anxiety really controls almost every part of my life. I have those days where I think I’m just going to go, I mean why not? But the days following I worry and overthink things and really just talk myself out of it.

I truly believe that I am a traveler at heart, when I was little I always talked about moving to another country, or I would make plans to visit every state in the United States, or I would make up stories where the characters lived anywhere expect Ohio. That proves that my heart really wants me to be out there, I need to stop letting something as little as anxiety hold me back. Even though we all know that is easier said then done. I think that growing up with a sick father(Which I will probably explain in a post soon), has really made me a homebody. I feel like I just need to be here.

I’m also one of those people who don’t like taking medicine to control something like anxiety because I’m a sort of “control freak.” I’m afraid of losing control or becoming depressed and not my bubbly self anymore. I’ve tried meditation, but not necessarily recently. That’s probably something I should look into again. I just want to experience the world. I want to know what it is like to be fully immersed in another culture, surrounded by people I don’t know. I don’t want to feel like I am “trapped ” here anymore.

As ridiculous as this sounds, another reason that I wanted to change my major from a teacher to a Journalist, is because I want the freedom to travel. I don’t want to be tied down to a school or a city or an area for 9 months of the year. I just want to know what it is like, even if I end up not liking the experience, I want to at least tell people that I traveled, that I tried to see things from another perspective. Instead of just staying in the U.S. with my head in the clouds the rest of  my life. Have any of you ever felt this way before? Leave a like or a comment explaining your traveling experiences below!

All my love,

Kate

 

Leave a Reply

